Shooting the breeze Doncaster Airgun Range/  
Go Back   Shooting the breeze > The Chat > General Airgun Chat

General Airgun Chat Chat and banter that doesn't fit anywhere else...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st July 2016, 07:16 PM
NeilM's Avatar
NeilM NeilM is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Member of: Avon Hawks
Location: Nth Somerset
Posts: 579
Default Combro cb625 computer cable question

I am not a complete thicky when it comes to computers, but it's not really my game, especially not when they run Microsoft software.

My problem is that I have a Combro cb-625 and bought with it the serial cable to connect to my laptop, except, the laptop is new and very simple as it was bought for holiday use, and it does not have a serial port. I have bought a serial to USB 2.00 adaptor cable, but try as I might I cannot find a driver that will work.

Most likely this is me at fault and not the drivers.

Oh and to add to the fun, the laptop has no disk drive and is running Windows 10 ().

Anyone able to point me in the right direction?
__________________
"I'm your huckleberry, that's just my game"
Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

  #2  
Old 31st July 2016, 07:30 PM
Doberman1979's Avatar
Doberman1979 Doberman1979 is offline
Not so senior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Member of: Emley
Location: Pontefract
Posts: 206
Default

Hi

We have an issue with data loggers at work - serial to usb used but we have to go into device settings and change the com port to get them to work? Shot in the dark but worth a try :-)

Simon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st July 2016, 07:40 PM
NeilM's Avatar
NeilM NeilM is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Member of: Avon Hawks
Location: Nth Somerset
Posts: 579
Default

Ahhh, interesting, as the Combro program only lists Com 3 and the error message mentions Com 2.

Got to be worth a try.

Thanks.
__________________
"I'm your huckleberry, that's just my game"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st July 2016, 09:31 PM
Doberman1979's Avatar
Doberman1979 Doberman1979 is offline
Not so senior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Member of: Emley
Location: Pontefract
Posts: 206
Default

Switch it to Com3 and see if it communicates?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st July 2016, 11:31 PM
Evo's Avatar
Evo Evo is offline
Bob Evans
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Member of: ByleyFTC
Location: wirral uk
Posts: 436
Default

had exactly the same problem so I will follow this topic with interest, cable has been stuck in the drawer since
__________________
OSTLER FTP900 BIG NIKKO mk3
OSTLER/ISP FTP900 BIG NIKKO mk3
STEYR LG100 SIGHTRON s111 10 x 42
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st August 2016, 05:57 AM
NeilM's Avatar
NeilM NeilM is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Member of: Avon Hawks
Location: Nth Somerset
Posts: 579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evo View Post
had exactly the same problem so I will follow this topic with interest, cable has been stuck in the drawer since
Glad it's not just me then.
__________________
"I'm your huckleberry, that's just my game"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st August 2016, 07:32 AM
NeilM's Avatar
NeilM NeilM is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Member of: Avon Hawks
Location: Nth Somerset
Posts: 579
Default

OK, set the port to Com2 and now get an error message when running the combro software saying Com3 is not happy. Change things back to Com3 and Com2 is not happy.

I have e-mailed Robin at Combro to see if he can help.
__________________
"I'm your huckleberry, that's just my game"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st August 2016, 07:52 AM
Joha Joha is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member of: DFTA
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 12
Default

Hope this helps

http://plugable.com/2011/07/04/how-t...r-on-windows-7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st August 2016, 07:53 AM
fatwelshboy's Avatar
fatwelshboy fatwelshboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Member of: Nelson FTC
Location: Pontypridd
Posts: 160
Default

Not 100% sure but I think I had to go into device manager and set the adapter to run in Windows XP compatibility mode. The first lead I had off eBay was a duff so bought one from a local computer shop.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st August 2016, 09:52 AM
Andy P's Avatar
Andy P Andy P is offline
Gently does it......
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Member of: Mid Shires Marksmen
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 83
Default

I think anyone who's ever tried connecting Combro with a serial - USB adapter has had problems, I did. I had two leads and found that it was the drivers. If this is your problem then here's a link to my drivers that worked for me I hope they do for you.

A better lead to get if anyone is thinking of connecting a Combro to computer in the future is this one:

Straight forward USB - Combro connection Lead

Serial - USB Drivers

Good luck.!
__________________
Play
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
shooting-the-breeze.com Skin design and concept by Attitude