Shooting the breeze Central Southern Field Target Association  
Go Back   Shooting the breeze > The Chat > Hunter / Field Target

Hunter / Field Target Anything metal target related...

Old 4th November 2014, 06:55 PM
Default new to ft

Hi I'm new to the ft scene I have got a njr100 with a nikko nighteater scope 6-24x56. The rifle is superb but the scope is a big weak point due to no range finding abilities so I'm looking for a entry level scope that can range find to suit my budget of around 250.Ive been advised on what scopes work well with the njr. Due to it being a old rifle of NJR100 <(forum member).
So the question is can a entry level scope do the job or should I wait until I can afford a leup ,big nikko etc. Thanks
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 4th November 2014, 07:03 PM

I had an NJR100 for a few years in the early part of this century. For most of the time it had a Custom Shop scope on top, which I changed for a big Nikko. I sold the NJR to get a mark 1 EV2 and how I wish I had kept it.

There will be Falcon T50 coming up for sale from my club in a week or so; the price is going to be around 250 which is competitive, if that would suit.

Last edited by rich; 4th November 2014 at 07:05 PM.
Old 4th November 2014, 07:38 PM
My Empire of Dirt
Member of: Southampton Buccaneers, Parkstone, South Dorset

Custom shop or Deben 10-50 are well worth a look in that price range. The latter is very over looked, but Simon Ayers uses one, and with 2 2nd places in the worlds and a european championship in the bag as well as a grading % that's in the high 90's, i'd say for the 300 mark it could be all you need.
BFTA/NSRA County Coach
CSFTA Chairman/BFTA Rep
Old 4th November 2014, 08:04 PM

So is a t50 a accurate range finder? And is 50 mag too much? Would the t35 be a better buy?
Old 4th November 2014, 08:33 PM