Shooting the breeze Dowry Hill FTC  
Go Back   Shooting the breeze > The Chat > Introductions

Introductions Say hello...

Old 13th July 2009, 09:35 AM
Default hello all

My name's Dan and I'm a complete newbie to the sport, but looking to get into HFT as soon as i can!

I've managed to get a good deal on a second hand Daystate Harrier and fitted it with a MTC Viper 10x44 scope. OK it's not the best there is but it should be more than enough to get me going

I've spent quite a bit of time getting the scope zeroed @ 40 yards and taking note of the various aiming points between 8 and 45 yards and I'm pretty confident that any misses are due to me now hehe.

I'm currently living in Stoke-on-Trent and what I'm looking for is a good fairly local club where I can get to know the ropes in a relaxed environment. Bisley is pretty close but whether that's a good place for a first-timer i'm not sure. What do you guys think? Or are there any other suggestions?

Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 13th July 2009, 09:41 AM
Getting dusty

Hi Dan, there's a few clubs a lot closer than Bisley to Stoke that do HFT.

Within an hour and a bit you've got.

Tawd Vale and Rivington Riflemen to the North.

Fort and Quarry to the West.

The Greyhound, Millride, Rough Wedge, Harriers, Quarford and a few others to the South.

To the East, Anston, Redfearns, Emley Moore, Leicester Airgun Club and Lincs HFT.

There's a National round at Bisley this weekend and then a NW Gauntlet shoot at Rivington the Sunday after, if you fancy dipping your toe in? I'll happily take you round the course at Rivi and show you the ropes.

Old 13th July 2009, 09:44 AM
" Horsham HFT champion 2010 "... apparently...

Hi Dan

Well a harrier and viper is a capable tool for the job , not sure about the 40 yards zero but if it works for you then thats fine .