I think I have the positions correct?
No you haven't. You are clearly gaining an advantage so it's against the rules.
THERE IS NO SET ALTERNATIVE POSITION. There is only a position which the chief Marshall agrees gives YOU no advantage. As your groups show this does the position is illegal for YOU. It may be leg for someone else though like Conor who seems to be disadvantaged by the alternative position he uses.
But to repeat THERE IS NO DEFACTO ALTERNATIVE POSITION only ones you may use if they don't advantage you