View Single Post
Old 27th January 2013, 03:45 PM
Mrs H's Avatar
Mrs H Mrs H is offline
Narnia Guide
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member of: Cambridge HFT, Cambridge 177, Shelford Rifle Club
Location: Cambs
Posts: 98
Smile Cambridge Winter Diabolical 2013 Results

Cambridge Winter Diabolical 2013

For the first year in ages it looked as though the gods were looking favourably on us this time. The snow and ice of the previous 10 days had cleared overnight with the heavy rain leaving us with a somewhat muddy access road. The woods themselves were remarkably clear and dry.
So perfect conditions…

…except of course for *that* wind.
A wind that originated somewhere near the foot of the Ural mountains and picked up speed as it whistled towards us. A wind that liked nothing more than picking up bits of bright orange string and trailing them sideways out into the fields causing seasoned shooters to momentarily bite their lip and emit a faint whimper.

There was an excellent turn out of shooters for this infamously *different* course.
Some targets were very small, some targets were very far away. Some were both. The rest were hiding behind bicycle wheels, car tyres, pallets, a 15mm hole drilled through a tree trunk or perched on a swing.
Our thanks as ever to all the course setters for making this a most memorable shoot. Where else could you limp off a course with a score code written in binary and still smile?

Congratulations to all the winners. Scores as follows…

Barry Smith 43
Jeff Westley 43
Simon Jones 42
Justin Rhone 41
Martin Slane 40
Ian Seddon 39
Simon Vant 39
Dan Measures 38
Steve Willingham 38
Jill Cochrane 36
Stu Deeks 35
Steve Youngs 35
Jack Houghton 35
Chris Boulton 35
Brian Clarke 35
Terry Turner 35
Mark Andrews 34
Jon Houghton 33
Keith Warburton 32
Jenny Stone 32
Alex Larkin 31
Kyle Hampton 31
Jean Greatrex 30
Andy Ireland 30
Kathy Thompson 30
Tony “next-years-course-will-be-worse” Haas 30
Neil Taylor 29
Bill Chaplin 29
Charlie Lake 28
Nigel Fleet 27
Quenton Tayler 27
Gordon Smith 26
Kevin “woodsman”Turner 26
Finn Cochrane 25
Richard Lander 25
Mark Thompson 25
Graham Jaggard 24
Wayne Armstrong 23
Joanne Cogger 21
Craig Lawrence 21
Matt Farmer 20
Simon Eley 20
Shani Smith 17
Andy Ellis 16
Leon Kill 15

Richard “might-try-.25-next” Woods 37
Neil “when-did-Dopp-start-shooting-.22” Wakelin 36
Roger Lait 34
Wayne Pearce 31
Colin Sykes 30
Matt Rawlins 27
George Vant 27
Piers Honeywell 24
Matt Creedy 20
Dean Auger 16

Anne Higgins 36
Andy Day 35
Tom “the-rifles-as-big-as-me” Willingham 32
Jake Day 31
Steve Kill 29
Bob Brand 25
Peter Brightwell 23
Jim Leman 22

Jonathan Chidzoy 32
Becky Rawlins 32
Alex Honeywell 27
Nia Preston 23
Oliver Fleet 19
Louis Honeywell 18

Congratulations to Nia Preston for winning the Golden shot draw.

Our thanks as ever to Sue in the catering van for keeping us all fed and watered.
Gary I have a spare Daisy I can lend you if the Steyr doesn't work out
Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread